Workshops

You are here:Home-Workshops
Workshops 2020-06-04T20:11:30+00:00

During our workshops essential aspects of preparing a paper for publication are discussed to encourage and equip participants to submit their papers for publication. Discussion will centre on:

  • What makes a paper worthy of publication
  • The role of the literature
  • The role of clinical material
  • How ideas may be justified
  • Developing and presenting one’s ideas
  • Choosing a title and writing an abstract
  • Possible obstacles to beginning and finishing a paper
  • The process of submitting papers and being reviewed.

Watch here a short video about writing a psychoanalytic paper for The International Journal of Psychoanalysis.

IJP PRIZE

Prize for Best Paper related to the Coronavirus Crisis

The corona crisis confronts us with new and challenging experiences as analysts. To help the analytic community share insights and develop deeper understanding of these new experiences we are encouraging the submission of papers. A prize is offered to the best paper on the subject of any aspect of working psychoanalytically during the coronavirus crisis. This might focus specifically on the enforced changes to the setting and to the environmental situation, or it might take a wider perspective to include situations which might be comparable. Importantly, the paper needs to be supported by clinical or other relevant material. Submissions should be no longer than 10,000 words. As with usual IJP submissions, we will be looking at the clarity of what is being advanced and at the way it has been demonstrated, as well as at what it is adding to any existing literature.

Deadline for submission: 1st October 2020

Please send submissions to: Catherine.Humble@iopa.org.uk

NEXT WORKSHOP 

IJP Covid-19 Online Writing Workshop

Sunday 3 May 2020, 14:00 GMT

From New Experiences to Publishable Paper: Being Creative in the Time of Coronavirus

In this workshop, we will discuss how to write a paper for the IJP related to the subject of working psychoanalytically during the coronavirus crisis.  Starting from a presentation of what writing a paper for the IJP involves in general, we will turn more specifically to the issue of how our analytic experiences at this time of crisis could serve as the basis for a paper: what kinds of ideas might be developed? What would form supportive evidence and valid argumentation? What would be considered relevant background and referencing?  We will discuss a range of draft papers addressing different aspects of the situation (e.g. social crisis, inner and outer reality in analytic work, analytic setting, long-distance analysis), looking at how these draft ideas might be developed to provide significant contributions to the analytic literature.

The webinar, led by Rachel Blass and chaired by Dana Birksted-Breen, will centre around the discussion of a few papers or ideas for papers on relevant topics. The papers or ideas will be selected in advance from webinar participants; in this regard, we invite participants to send in papers or paper ideas for discussion: these might be papers in progress, but could also be outlines or a series of questions arising from experiences in the analytic situation; the ideas may be clinically or theoretically focussed. Selection will be based on suitability for the purposes of the workshop.

If you would like to submit your draft or ideas to be discussed at the workshop please send them to Rachel Blass by April 15: RachelBlass@gmail.com

The Webinar Writing Workshop will take place on Sunday 3 May and will last 1 hour and 45 minutes. In order to reach countries around the world, it will take place at 14:00 GMT (15:00 CET, 6:00 PDT, 9:00 EDT, 22:00 China, 01:00 next day AEDT, 10:00 Argentina; 10:00 Brazil)

To register please email Chris Lawrence: Chris.Lawrence@iopa.org.uk